Saturday, October 4, 2008


Government has kept all the promises, says YSR
D. Srinivas asks people to support Congress in byelections
Recognition: Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy being felicitated by Kayath Lambadas at Gandhari mandal headquarters in Nizamabad district on Wednesday.
GANDHARI (NIZAMABAD DT.): In an apparent move to attract voters in view of the byelections scheduled to be held towards May-end Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, here on Wednesday, profusely showered sops on the people of Yellareddy Assembly constituency.
Saying that there was no dearth of funds for any developmental or welfare activity in the State, he said people of Yellareddy constituency had no Congress representative in the Assembly in the last 25 years and called upon them to be positive towards the party nominee in this election.
Meanwhile Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee president D. Srinivas addressed a gathering here and informed them about the byelections to 16 Assembly and four Lok Sabha seats spread across. He said that the elections may be round the corner and appealed to people to give their verdict in favour of Congress. “You gave out right support to the Congress in the last elections. With that the party could form Governments at Centre and in the State,” he said.
The Chief Minister said unlike other previous Governments the Congress Government had kept all its promises made to people. Against all the odds it scrapped electricity arrears to the tune of Rs.1,200 crore and has been giving free power to farm sector for four years. Similarly, it waived a whopping amount of Rs.12,000 crore farm loans benefiting 78 lakh farmers in the State.
“We do not go back after making promises. We are committed to develop neglected areas like Yellareddy constituency”, he said and announced sanction of minor irrigation schemes costing Rs.2.28 crore, Rs.2 crore for Pocharam project modernization, Rs.96 lakh for a feeder channel, Rs.1.25 crore for Panchayat Raj roads and Rs.1.92 crore for drinking water.
In response to the appeal of the Kayath Lambadas who hitherto are in Backward Communities list, Dr. Reddy said he would take a positive decision to enlist them in Scheduled Tribes after due recommendation to the ST Commission. The Kayath Lambadas are predominant in Yellareddy and Banswada constituencies.
Minister for Power Mohammad Ali Shabbir, legislators -- B. Govardhan, S. Gangaram, S. Santhose Reddy and P. Sudarshan Reddy, Members of Legislative Council -- R. Venkatrami Reddy, D. Rajeswar and B. Mohan Reddy and District Congress Committee president G. Gangadhar were present.