Friday, September 30, 2011

Change maha dharna venue or date, Lagadapati urges Jagan

Change maha dharna venue or date, Lagadapati urges Jagan/Change maha dharna venue or date, Lagadapati urges Jagan

Vandey Gandheeyam organising committee president and Vijayawada MP Lagadapati Rajagopal has urged YSR Congress president and Kadapa MP Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy to either change the date or the venue of his ‘maha dharna' scheduled on October 1.

Mr. Rajagopal dashed a letter to Mr. Jagan here on Thursday stating that the Gandhi Global Family, Krishna district unit, was organising Vandey Gandheeyam.

As part of it, a series of programmes were taken up to create awareness on the event.

The committee planned to organise a ‘Satyagraha' near the Victoria Museum on October 1.
Odarpu Yatra

“You, as part of Odarpu Yatra, have announced that a dharna will be organised at the same place,” he said, adding: “We are organising the programme to commemorate the Father of the Nation.

Hence, we request you to either change the venue or date of the dharna.”
Bandobust arrangements

Meanwhile, Police Commissioner N. Madhusudhan Reddy stated that all necessary arrangements were being taken for bandobust to Vandey Gandheeyam to avoid untoward incidents.

Mr. Rajagopal said Union Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad would take part in the celebrations being organised by the Gandhi Global Family.

NCC cadets and NSS volunteers took out a huge rally to create awareness about Vandey Gandheeyam.

Former Mayors Mallika Begum, Ratna Bindu, and others participated in the programme.

They flagged off the rally which passed though Eluru Road, Nakkal Road, and lanes and bylanes and ended at IGMC Stadium.

Earlier, they garlanded the Gandhi statue put up near the Victoria Museum.
Elocution winners

The organisers announced the winners in the elocution competitions conducted for youth aged below 35.

A. Pavani, K. Anusha, and A. Sambasiva Reddy stood first, second, and third respectively.

G. Sujata and G. Suresh Babu were selected for consolation prizes in the special category.

In category 3, comprising degree and PG students, P. Nikhita, MBBS second year student in Siddhartha Medical College, Thomas K. of SVDS Law College in Kanuru, and P. Naresh of Andhra Loyola College secured first, second, and third positions respectively.