Friday, July 10, 2009

Secunderabad-Delhi non-stop express soon

Secunderabad-Delhi non-stop express soon
Railway Minister announces new train following strong protest lodged by MPs from Andhra Pradesh
Railway Minister announces 5 new trains for A.P.
Assures A.P. of more funds for pending works

HYDERABAD: The strong protest lodged by MPs from Andhra Pradesh appears to have yielded results as Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee announced five new trains for the State, including a non-stop ‘Duranto’ express train between New Delhi and Secunderabad.
Ponnam Prabhakar, Convenor of Congress MPs from the State, said that details of the remaining four trains announced would be known in a day or two.
Apart from new trains -- which he claimed was result of open displeasure expressed by the Congress Members of Parliament — Rajahmundry and Guntur railway stations would have two modern commercial complexes with all necessary utility services.
The Karimnagar MP said Ms. Banerjee had assured that Andhra Pradesh would get additional funds to take up the pending works. All the metre gauge lines in the State would be converted into broad gauge within a year, he said. He thanked the Railway Minister for considering the plea of the MPs as well as the letter written by the Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy. He hoped that the pending projects would get sufficient funds so that the works would be completed at the earliest benefiting the State.
The Union Minister had announced a bi-weekly super fast express between Visakhapatnam and Mumbai passing through Secunderabad. This was among the five new trains proposed in the Railway budget. The other trains, all weekly super fast, are: Sriganganagar-New Delhi-Nanded Express, Bilaspur-Hyderabad-Thiruvanantapuram Express, Nizamuddin-Bangalore via Kachiguda Rajdhani Express and Howrah-Bangalore Express.
Delhi Correspondent adds: The Railway Minister announced the inclusion of more stations in the list of those to be developed as ‘adarsh’ (model) stations with basic facilities. ‘Adarsh’ stations
Those included among the ‘adarsh’ stations’ list from Andhra Pradesh are Ramagundam, Kakinada, Nizamabad, Kurnool, Adilabad, Medak and Mahabubnagar.